Introductory Post

Welcome to my blog that I have set up for the module ‘Living and Working on the Web’- UOSM2088.

I am very excited to start this journey of blogging which is a very new experience for me!

I have attached a table below which shows my self assessment on how I would rate my current rate of digital literacy from a scale of 1-5, where 1 is very inexperienced/poor and 5 is very experienced/good. On completion of this module, I will revisit this table to show my improvements through the semester.

Rating at start of module Comments Rating at end of module Comments
Accessing, managing and evaluating online information 2 I am adept at gathering relevant information that I requite online however I believe I can streamline this process as I have fallen into the trap of making too much of a broad search which takes up a more than substantial amount of time.
Participating in online communities 3 I enjoy communicating online with others and have a variety of social media accounts in which I can do so.
Building online networks around an area of interest 2 I tend to follow a lot of blogs that I have an interest in but at times I can refrain from actively involving myself with them which perhaps hinders my ability to network with others more.
Collaborating with others on shared projects 2 As social secretary for the Tennis society, I am continuously involved in creating and organizing events every week for the team which allows me to collaborate with others. However, I feel that there is more for me to explore and develop on.
Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video) 2 I am able to use softwares such as photoshop and to a certain extent WordPress which allows me to create content online. However, it does take me time to learn how to use different online materials to produce this.
Managing your online identity 3 I have quite a strong online presence, however there are some platforms in which I am quite inconsistent with such as LinkedIn.
Managing your online privacy and security 3 As someone who has access to most social media platforms, I tend to put my settings on private as I only like to connect with people I know online. However, on a platform such as Twitter I have made it public which perhaps makes it easier for me to connect with not only just my followers but with those I do not know.

Q1 Why did you choose the module?

As someone who engages frequently with social media and online networks, I thought it would be the perfect module to showcase my creativity as well as be able to improve my writing skills, allowing me to achieve a genuine connection with my online audience. I was also keen on the fact that there were no lectures!

Q2 What in particular do you want to learn from the module?

I hope that this module will help me develop a good degree of punctuality, in the sense that I would have acquired the skill to digest a topic every fortnight whilst also producing a coherent piece of work.

Q3 Which degree programme are you studying?

Bsc Marketing

Q4 Have you studied online before?

I haven’t studied online before; however, I have used online resources such as watching YouTube tutorials which have been able to assist me in my studies or in an area I’m confused in.

Leave a Reply

